The next Marian Award will be handed out at the class of 2020 commencement ceremony in May. Check back for information on how to nominate a deserving individual for this award.

Past Marian Award Winners

Leo Smentowski ‘54, 2001
Father Rawley Myers, 2002
Andrew Middlemist, 2003
Leonard L. Buresh, 2004
Betty Elliott Faricy ‘70, 2005
John D. McCord, 2006
Bambi Venetucci, 2007
Don Mersman ‘71, 2008
Thomas S. Kelly, 2009
Bishop Richard C. Hanifen, 2010
Chuck Murphy ’54, 2011
Leroy Hoelting, 2012
Father Bill Carmody, 2013
Jack and Bernadette Johnston, 2014
Nick and Margaret Colarelli, 2015
John Suthers ’70, 2016
Michael Biondini ’66, 2017
Bishop Michael Sheridan, 2018

Online Nomination Form

Printable Nomination Form


Each year members of the St. Mary’s High School community nominate individuals deserving of the St. Mary’s High School Marian Award. The award, which has been given annually since 2001, is presented by the St. Mary’s High School Board of Directors in recognition of unselfish service to others and outstanding contributions to the community.

St. Mary's figurine

The St. Mary’s Marian Award is modeled after the Notre Dame Laetare Medal. It is awarded to an individual or individuals in recognition of unselfish service to others and outstanding contributions to the community. The award acknowledges someone who exemplifies Mary’s service to others as demonstrated by her supreme faith in Jesus Christ.

Nominees must:

  • Be living (the award is not given posthumously)

  • Be a practicing Catholic lay person or Ordained Religious person

  • Be a role model for the students of St. Mary’s High School

  • Have successfully and outwardly lived the values of our Catholic faith

  • Have provided service to the community of Colorado Springs as exemplified by Mary’s service to us as the Mother of God.

Past winners include Colorado Springs Mayor John Suthers for his selfless service the community through public service; Nick and Margaret Colarelli, founders of Fostering Hope, which is a nonprofit that supports foster families; and the late Father Bill Carmody, for his commitment to pro-life activities.